Congratulations 2020 Bay Commitment Recipients

We are so proud of our 83 Bay County graduating high school seniors who are receiving our Bay Commitment Scholarship for first-generation college students. While in times before COVID we would celebrate together at a special reception, we made sure to still honor these students and their hard work. Volunteers delivered bags to each of their doorsteps with a college t-shirt, scholarship certificate, and an invitation to join us live on Facebook on May 19 for a special video premiere. The video features special messages from presidents of Bay Area Community Foundation, Delta College, and Saginaw Valley State University as well as from past scholarship recipient Miah Cooper. Each student is also honored. You can view the video by clicking here.

We have also created a scholarship booklet that highlights each student. Click here to open the PDF.

The Bay Commitment Scholarship provides funds to students who are first-generation college students (the parent with whom the student resides has not obtained a bachelor’s degree or higher) and will attend college locally at either Delta College or Saginaw Valley State University in the fall. Students must be graduating from a Bay County high school and have also been Bay County residents for six years. Recipients who attend SVSU will also be eligible for a renewable $1,000 scholarship provided by SVSU for second, third, and fourth years of study.

“In the past 10 years, over $2 million has been invested in our local students through the Bay Commitment program,” said Diane Fong, Bay Area Community Foundation President & CEO. “This support is possible only because of our dedicated and generous donors who believe that education is a top priority in our community. We are grateful to them for allowing us to help students achieve their academic dreams.”

To learn more about the Bay Commitment Scholarship program and how to support it, please call Diane Fong at Bay Area Community Foundation at 989-893-4438.

Students receiving the Bay Commitment Scholarship this year are:

A’nika Allen, Bay Arenac Community High School
Rylinne Baker, Western High School
Faith Bills, Western High School
Izabella Bourdow, Western High School
Brendan Brill, John Glenn High School
Mariana Burns, Bay Arenac Community High School
Anthony Chippi, Bay City Central High School
Katelynne Darbee, John Glenn High School
Shayla Day, Pinconning Area High School
Christian DeBolt, Garber High School
Walker Derby, Bay Arenac Community High School
Destiny Dietzel, Bay City Central High School
Halee Eckerd, Western High School
MaKenze Eischer-Bridges, John Glenn High School
Allexys Freeman, Bay City Central High School
Makayla Funch, Garber High School
Malikai Garrett, John Glenn High School
James Genow, John Glenn High School
Hailey Godi, John Glenn High School
Rachel Gonsler, Western High School
Elizabeth Good, Bay City Eastern High School
Molly Griffenham, Bay Arenac Community High School
Nichole Griffin, John Glenn High School
Anabella Gutierrez, Bay City Central High School
Dezirae Hayes, Western High School
Mercadies Hill, John Glenn High School
Bridget Hunsinger, Western High School
Ledonna Husband, Bay City Central High School
Taylor Jaynes, Western High School
Jayden Jezewski, Western High School
Emily Kaznowski, John Glenn High School
Keegan Kinsella, Garber High School
Raegan Koch, John Glenn High School
Danielle Langenburg, John Glenn High School
Emma Larive, John Glenn High School
Laura Lavrack, Pinconning Area High School
Melissa Leivo, John Glenn High School
Kyle Lewandowski, Bay City Central High School
Selena Lopez, John Glenn High School
Lauren Luptowski, Western High School
Brooke Lytle, Western High School
Romalus Marshall-Bey, Bay City Eastern High School
Katelyn Matlock, Bay City Central High School
Meri McGinnis, Garber High School
Casey Monville, John Glenn High School
Nadia Morley, Bay City Central High School
Christina Nicholson, Garber High School
Ethan Nowaczyk, Western High School
Miyah Obertein, Pinconning Area High School
Anthony Oswald, John Glenn High School
Jenna Picard, Western High School
Jacob Potter, Bay City Central High School
Hailee Prahl, Bay City Central High School
Madison Pruder, John Glenn High School
Nicholas Quade, Bay City Central High School
Anthony Rajewski, Bay City Central High School
Shayla Rajewski, Western High School
Nicholas Rajewski, Western High School
Kara Reed, Western High School
Bethany Robbins, Western High School
Kennedy Sage, Western High School
Isabella Salazar, Bay City Central High School
Claire Sanchez, Bay City Central High School
Daniel Schalk, Bay City Central High School
Alexis Schwab, Bay Arenac Community High School
Taylor Scott, Western High School
Brady Sheahan, John Glenn High School
Sage Simon, Bay City Central High School
Michael Smith, II, Garber High School
Mykenzie Smith, Bay Arenac Community High School
Paige Smith, Bay City Central High School
Samuel Smith, Bay City Central High School
Kiersten Stein, Bay City Central High School
Trevor Switala, John Glenn High School
Haleigh Tait, Western High School
Richard West, John Glenn High School
Olivia Whyte, Pinconning Area High School
Alexis Wieland, Western High School
Hannah Wojciechowski, Western High School
Trevor Wolleson, John Glenn High School
Madison Woodfin, Garber High School
Rebecca Yager, Bay City Central High School
Karrissa Zerod, John Glenn High School


More Posts

MLK Celebration featuring keynote speaker Bakari Sellers

Political analyst, activist and former South Carolina representative Bakari Sellers will deliver the keynote address for the 14th annual Martin Luther King Jr. Regional Celebration at Saginaw Valley State University on Wednesday, Jan. 18 at 7 p.m.

John Murray pays it forward

“…Pay it forward.” John “Johann” Murray shares this piece of advice to all willing to listen, “If you have the means, pay it forward.” When

Send Us A Message