Bay Commitment

Bay Commitment Scholarship Program

In 2008, a group of visionaries and philanthropists passionate about education got together to find a way to build our community’s education attainment levels. Bay Commitment Scholarship is growing our community by degrees, but it’s also an important support program for students and families navigating new territory.

Each year, Bay Area Community Foundation awards $2,000 each to up to 100 first-generation college students in Bay County pursuing a degree or certificate at either Saginaw Valley State University or Delta College. A first-generation college student is one whose parent(s) they live with do not hold bachelor’s degrees.          

Who is Eligible for the Bay Commitment Scholarship?

Students interested in the Bay Commitment Scholarship must meet the following criteria:

  • High school senior in a Bay County school
  • Neither parent(s) (that you live with) has a bachelor’s degree
  • Plans to attend Delta College or Saginaw Valley State University

Students are also eligible to apply for additional Bay Area Community Foundation scholarships by completing our annual scholarship application. To learn more about these additional scholarship opportunities, visit our BACF Scholarship Program page.

We are so grateful to the following individuals and organizations who have helped us make education a priority in our community through the Bay Commitment Scholarship Program.

Bay Commitment Visionaries: Krantz Family Fund, Bay Commitment Fund, Charles and Morrow Ford Bay Commitment Fund, Joseph F. and Marjory A. Kerr Scholarship, Labadie Auto Company Bay Commitment Fund, Warren F. and Ruth P. Mandley Memorial Education Fund, Ronald K. and Greta A. McGillivray Scholarship Fund, Paul Revard and Frances Santoro Bay Commitment Fund, Carolyn Wierda Bay Commitment Fund, Stephen and Dena Wirt Scholarship Fund.

Bay Commitment Legacies and Bequests: Newell and Elizabeth Eddy Bay Commitment Scholarship Fund, Educational Gift & Academic Awareness Commemorative Fund, Phil & Whitey Jackson Memorial Scholarship Fund, Virginia C. Johnston Scholarship Fund, Helen Mackey Memorial Fund, Donald C. Nichols Fund, John C. and Marion R. Noell Educational Fund, Rosemary Pope Fund, Irene Mary Rzepa Scholarship Fund.

“To and Through” College Supporters: Bay Commitment College Access Network Endowment Fund, Newell and Elizabeth Eddy College Access Fund, Charles Ford College Access Endowment Fund, Michigan College Access Network, Nickless Family Charitable Foundation, Vision for Education.

Need assistance? We’re here to answer your scholarship and application questions.

Aaron Faist - Program Officer

I am the program officer that oversees the Youth Advisory Committee, Men’s Philanthropy Group, and our scholarship program.