A community commitment to first-generation college students

baycommitment students

Ten years ago, visionaries and philanthropists passionate about education got together to find a way to build our community’s education attainment levels. Bay Commitment Scholarship is growing our community by degrees, but it’s also an important support program for students and families navigating new territory.

Each year, Bay Area Community Foundation awards $2,000 each to up to 100 first-generation college students in Bay County pursuing a degree or certificate at either Saginaw Valley State University or Delta College. A first-generation college student is one whose parents or guardians do not hold bachelor’s degrees.

 Donate to Bay Commitment Scholarship


10 Stories of Student Success for the 10th Anniversary Celebration

Although it’s been only ten years since this program was started, we already see it making huge strides in our community. In honor of the 10th anniversary celebration, we are sharing 10 stories of success. Read about these students, their successes, and their struggles along the way here.


Am I or is my child eligible for the Bay Commitment Scholarship?

Students interested in the Bay Commitment Scholarship must meet the following criteria:

  • Graduating high school senior in a Bay County school
  • Neither parents/guardians have a bachelor’s degree
  • Plans to attend Delta College or Saginaw Valley State University

Students apply for the Bay Commitment Scholarship through the annual Bay Area Community Foundation scholarship applications. Bay Commitment Scholarship should show up as one of your choices on the application. If it does not show up and you think you are eligible, please call the office at 989-893-4438 before your submit the application. Application guidelines, deadlines, and instructions can be found on our scholarship page.

We are so grateful to the following individuals and organizations who have helped us make education a priority in our community:

Carolyn Wierda, Charles and Morrow Ford, Donald C. Nichols, Education Gift & Academic Awareness Commemorative Fund, Helen Mackey Memorial Fund, Krantz Family Fund, Labadie Auto Company, The Meijer Foundation, Newell and Elizabeth Eddy, Paul Revard and Frances Santoro, Phil and Whitey Jackson, Ronald K. and Greta A. McGillivray, S.C. Johnson, Stephen and Dena Wirt, Virginia C. Johnston, Vision for Education Fund

Keep in touch...

Hear stories of how grant dollars and scholarship funds are impacting our community, For Good. For Ever.


Join Our Email List>

Visit Us

Pere Marquette Depot in Downtown Bay City

Offices open by appointment only.

1000 Adams St., Suite 200
Bay City, MI 48708
Phone: 989.893.4438
Email: bacfnd@bayfoundation.org
Privacy Policy